Change Font Size

Kathy R F Tales

Fairy tales have been told as bedtime stories by generations of parents, but the tales, such as Little Red Riding Hood may be even older, dating back thousands of years.

The Telegraph, dated 5th September 2009, stated that popular fairy tales and folk stories are more ancient than was previously thought, according to research by biologists. Contrary to the view that the tale originated in France shortly before Charles Perrault produced the first written version in the 17th century; variants shared a common ancestor dating back more than 2,600 years.

And in the 'Writing Magazine' this month, there is an article, headed 'Researchers dig deep for fairy tale history'. It says 'Beauty and the Beast' can be traced back thousands of years, and not just to the 16th and 17th century as originally thought.

The article includes that 'Jack and the Beanstalk' was rooted in a group of stories classified as 'The Boy Who Stole Ogre's Treasure', and could be traced back to more than 5,000 years ago

In my book 'A Twist of Fairy Tales', I include Little Red Riding Hood (called Little Scarlett Hudson) and 'Jack and the Beanstalk'. I didn't bother to change the name of the latter story, but after Jack steals from the giant, he forms a band called 'Jack and the Beanstalkers'.

We meet him again in my modern take on 'Cinderella'. When Cinderella goes to the ball and she meets the handsome prince, they dance to a group called 'Jack and the Beanstalkers.'

Here is the list of stories included in 'A Twist of Fairy Tales' available on Amazon, both soft book and Kindle, and a brief synopsis. ‘A Twist of Fairy Tales’ is a fabulous book for modern trendy children. Five of the stories, 'Little Scarlett Hudson', (Red Riding Hood),'The Ugly Duckling', 'Jack and the Beanstalk', 'Miss Goldie Locks', (Goldie Locks and the Three Bears), 'Cinderella', are brought up to date without losing any of the magic of the classical stories

I have written four completely new fairy tales that will enchant the reader. ‘Fairies and Unicorns', 'My Funny Valentine', 'Shrimp', and 'Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer'. Enchanting pictures are included in the contents pages, with a brief description of the nine tales, together with a full-page illustration at the beginning of each story.



I have an Amazon Author's page, where you can view and purchase my books. 

Meet The Author...
K J Rollinson
Who Am I?

K J Rollinson was born in Salford, Lancashire, UK moved to Wales aged 12 and also lived in Berkshire, UK. The author carved out a career and worked for many years for the National Health Service, taking various positions with health authorities within England and Wales, but now lives in Spain.

Dragons'; fantasy books. 'A Twist of Fairy Tales.' In soft books and Kindle. A crime book, 'The Rode to Justice', available only on Kindle. Go to Amazon author’s page for details

She has published six books on Amazon, writing under the name of K J Rollinson. The Fallyn trilogy, 'Fallyn and the Dragons', 'Fallyn in the Forbidden Land', 'Fallyn and the Sea Dragons'; fantasy books. 'A Twist of Fairy Tales.' In soft books and Kindle. 'Maranda the Mermaid'. All are children's books. A crime book, 'The Rode to Justice',(John Rode, 1st grade detective, murder stories) available only on Kindle. Short stories by the author have appeared in various anthologies and magazines, including ‘Shorts for Autumn’ the winner of the Writing Magazine 2012 Anthology.

She has won the Ian Govern Award 2015, for her book 'Where Lies My Heart', partly set in Africa. It is an action/romance book, also a faction book – a fiction book based on fact. The front cover is painted by herself. The book will be published on Amazon March/April 2016.

If you have purchased this book through Amazon, or have an Amazon account, could you find the time to place a review on this book. I always like to read what my readers think of my work. Thank you.

More From This Author...

Comment With Facebook