All Reviews

More Mill Days Memories - And Friendship

More Mill Days Memories - And Friendship

In the past, I’ve blogged about my time working in the mill during the 1950s.

By Anne Harvey | 09 Jan 2020

My Visit To Graceland

My Visit To Graceland

Since the age of 13, in 1959, I have been an ardent fan of the wonderful singer Elvis Presley.

By Rosemary Ann Smith | 06 Jan 2020

Want My Diet? Take The Big Snake, Too!

Want My Diet? Take The Big Snake, Too!

Some of you may by now have seen the new Coeliac UK TV advert, the one with a woman having her midriff squashed by a snake and carrying her own bodyweight in fatigue around with her.

By Lesley Krier Tither | 04 Jan 2020

Zealous, Truly Man's Best Friend - Life As A Police Dog Handler In The R A F

Zealous, Truly Man's Best Friend - Life As A Police Dog Handler In The R A F

Derek Coles reviews his memories of R A F Police days and dictated the following article to me.

By Jan Rosser | 02 Jan 2020

Last Christmas I Gave you My Heart (Adventures of L-Plate Gran)

Last Christmas I Gave you My Heart (Adventures of L-Plate Gran)

In answer to your unasked question: Little G's Nativity play went down a storm.

By Carol Hedges | 24 Dec 2019

Sharing Our Christmas Trees!

Sharing Our Christmas Trees!

Christmas Day is nearly upon us. Thank you so much for sharing photos of your Christmas trees!

By Jan Rosser | 21 Dec 2019

Unique Handmade Pens And Rings - Ideal For Christmas Presents!

Unique Handmade Pens And Rings - Ideal For Christmas Presents!

Looking for a Christmas or birthday present for the person in your life who has everything??

By Jan Rosser | 16 Dec 2019

Looking After Loved Ones In The Festive Period - The Meaning Of Christmas

Looking After Loved Ones In The Festive Period - The Meaning Of Christmas

Christmas, what does it mean to you? To some it is a religious festival and celebration of the birth of the Christ child.

By Anne Elizabeth Jones | 16 Dec 2019

Reviewing 35 Fascinating Facts! - Or Are They?

Reviewing 35 Fascinating Facts! - Or Are They?

Some more 'facts' that are circulating around the internet, source unknown. Thirty five of them in all. I do not know if they are 'facts' or not! 

By Jan Rosser | 13 Dec 2019

Remembering The Big Freeze - Winter 1962/3 Where Were You When It Happened?

Remembering The Big Freeze - Winter 1962/3 Where Were You When It Happened?

It has been a tad chilly these last few days and nights after our mostly mild November.

By Jan Rosser | 07 Dec 2019

Readers Reviews Of The Bobby Girls By Johanna Bell

Readers Reviews Of The Bobby Girls By Johanna Bell

My reviewers have been reading their copies of The Bobby Girls by Johanna Bell

By Jan Rosser | 05 Dec 2019

Christmas Capers (Adventures of L-Plate Gran)

Christmas Capers (Adventures of L-Plate Gran)

It has been some time since I wrote about Little G and Small.

By Carol Hedges | 04 Dec 2019

Romanian Rhapsody

Romanian Rhapsody

When I mentioned a holiday in Romania, I faced incredulity and dark mutterings of  “has she lost it?”

By Serena Fairfax | 30 Nov 2019

Readers Reviews Of Wren Jane Beacon On The Cut By D J Lindsay

Readers Reviews Of Wren Jane Beacon On The Cut By D J Lindsay

D J Lindsay very kindly sent out copies of his latest book and I now have the reviews back to share with you all.

By Jan Rosser | 28 Nov 2019

Reviewing The Exmouth Floods In 1960

Reviewing The Exmouth Floods In 1960

I was 14 yrs old in 1960. Our family were living in Exmouth, Devon & had just moved into a house in Park Road.

By Rosemary Ann Smith | 27 Nov 2019

Remembering My Interview With Dr Mark Porter MBE MB DS DA DCH

Remembering My Interview With Dr Mark Porter MBE MB DS DA DCH

I interviewed Doctor Mark Porter in 2015 for my previous OAPSchat website. Mark regularly broadcasts on Radio 4.

By Jan Rosser | 25 Nov 2019

Synopsis Of Notes From The Lost by  Cathie Hartigan

Synopsis Of Notes From The Lost by Cathie Hartigan

Isn't it amazing what can happen as the result of a chance conversation? 

By Cathie Hartigan | 24 Nov 2019

What Size Am I?

What Size Am I?

Shopping for clothes is meant to be a pleasurable experience - right?

By Jan Rosser | 14 Nov 2019

The Final Reckoning by Margaret James

The Final Reckoning is an atmospheric, twisty thriller set in the peaceful (or maybe not so peaceful) Herefordshire countryside.

When Lindsay Ellis was a teenager,  he stumbled across the dead body of her boyfriend Simon’s father, who had been battered to death.

Someone in the village knows who murdered Simon's father, and why.

Does the actual killer suspect Lindsay also knows the identity of the murderer, and is Lindsay now in great danger, too?

Available to buy from Amazon

 

Herb Kingdom

Not all CBD oils are the same.

We offer a full spectrum, genuine 'golden' CBD oil which has the unwanted plant matter and chlorophyll removed, leaving a better tasting and more effective extract, packed full of active cannabinoids.

We ensure our products have a high CBD content, giving better value for money. Our oil is as close to natural as we can get it and is vegan friendly.

We don't make medical claims but if you're yet to discover CBD then do some research and find out why so many people around the world are turning to it for their wellbeing.

Buy from  https://theherbkingdom.com/ref/7/

Clarity Voice Spray

Available in great tasting Elderberry or Honey and Lemon flavours.

Directions for use:

Shake before use. Spray into mouth. Use as often as required... Suitable for vegetarian use.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Aloe Vera, Flavour of choice (Elderberry Juice or Honey* Lemon juice)

Rose Cider Vinegar* and natural flavours* (extracts of liquorice, ginger, sage, thyme, rosehip, elderflower)

*organic ingredients used.

Made in the UK.

Give your voice clarity

Available to buy from Amazon in flavours Elderberry and Honey and Lemon

Creative Writing Student Handbook - Margaret James

Amazon review: a wonderful book, full of practical, useful tips.

If you're thinking about doing some creative writing this winter,

our 5* handbook will inspire you and give you confidence.

Available to buy from Amazon